leos banner

Recognition at OFC/NFOEC 2010

The Optical Fiber Communication Conference and Exposition (OFC), and the National Fiber Optic Engineers Conference (NFOEC) was held on 21–25 March, 2010 at the San Diego Convention Center, San Diego, California, USA. Recognition was made at the Plenary Session to the following recipients.


Ieee Fellows
Photonics Society members who have been elevated to the grade of IEEE Fellows: (From left to right)
Shigehisa Arai, David Neilson, Polina Bayvel, Benjamin Eggleton, Ganesh Gopalakrishnan, Yasuo Kokubun,
Chang-Hee Lee, Mario Paniccia, Willie Ng, Chunming Qiao, Leslie Rusch, James Coleman
(Photonics Society President), and Daniel Wilt.
Christopher Doerr John Tyndall Award
The 2009 William Streifer Scientific Award was presented to Christopher Doerr, “for pioneering research on highly functional integrated optical circuits based on arrayed waveguide grating routers and their implementation in advanced optical networks.” C. Randy Giles received the 2010 John Tyndall Award “for seminal contributions to advanced lightwave communications networks including erbium-doped fiber amplifiers, fiber Bragg grating-based subsystems, and MEMs crossconnects.” This award is jointly sponsored by the Photonics Society, OSA and endowed by Corning Inc. (From left to right) James C. Wyant (OSA Past-President), C. Randy Giles, Cindy Giroux (Corning, Incorporated) and James Coleman (Photonics Society President).
Young Investigator Award Ivan Paul Kaminow
The 2010 Young Investigator Award was presented to Sander Lars Jansen “for pioneering contributions in optical OFDM for fiber-optic transmission systems.” The 2010 IEEE Photonics Award was presented to Ivan Paul Kaminow, “for seminal contributions to electro-optic modulation, integrated optics, and semiconductor lasers, and leadership in optical telecommunications.”


If you would like to contact the IEEE Webmasterieee logo
© Copyright 2010, IEEE. Terms & Conditions. Privacy & Security

return to contents